2021 Prize Winners Announced!

Alexander Gadjiev Wins 2021 Competition It's official, the winners of the 2021 Sydney International Online Piano Competition have been revealed! Congratulations to Italian-Slovenian pianist Alexander Gadjiev, who has been crowned the winner of the Ernest Hutcheson First Prize, as well as awarded a further six prizes.

July Opus: e-newsletter

WELCOME Welcome to July's Opus:  The time has come! With the 2021 Online Competition launching this evening, we’ve chosen to keep this issue short and sweet! Rather than reading, let’s get started watching our 32 young virtuosos from 12 different nationalities, hand selected from a pool of over 285 applications, showcase their incredible musical skills.

Composing the Future

Dear Friends, I am absolutely thrilled to let you know about a the latest initiative we have at The Sydney – Composing The Future.

Meet The Competitors: Tony Lee and Artem Yasinskyy

Where in the world are you now? How have you been using this time while not performing and staying at home? Tony: I’ve been back in Sydney for a few months now and strangely enough, this has been the longest period of time I’ve been home in years.

Nature in Music: From Tree to Piano

By Ara Vartoukian OAM | Director & Concert Technician | Theme & Variations Piano Services   Walking through the forest and looking at the wood is the first step in the long journey from tree to piano.

Meet Conductor Nicholas Milton

Many Sydney-siders will know Dr Nicholas Milton as the Chief Conductor and Artistic Director of the Willoughby Symphony Orchestra and Choir – a position he has held since 2001.

Meet Jury Member Olga Kern

Like her stage persona, Olga Kern’s career sparkles with incredible competition wins and performances with international orchestras and artists.

Meet The Competitors: Wenting Shi and Kevin Chow

How are you using this time of social distancing and venue lockdowns? Taken up anything new? Learning new works? Kevin Chow: I have been using this extra time to learn new repertoire such as various works of Bach and Prokofiev.