Showbiz Classics

Gerard Willems AM See full bio +
Rachael Kohn AO FRSN See full bio +

Upcoming Concerts

Buy Tickets
Webcast: Online Concert
Available to watch online internationally
Buy Tickets

Showbiz Classics:

Music of the stage, screen – and incidentals in between

Watch on demand until Sunday 15 November.

What would your favourite movies and musicals be without the music that made you stir, startle, cry and fall in love? Acclaimed Beethoven specialist Gerard Willems AM performs music of Hollywood, Broadway and more, featuring music by Mozart, Grieg, Bernstein, Shostakovich and others in this one-hour piano recital. Afterwards he will be joined by Rachael Kohn AO FRSN (author & ABC presenter) for a stimulating chat on stage.

With the generous support of piano partner Kawai, this event will take place online on 1st November, reliving our October recitals in front of a limited capacity live audience at the Verbrugghen Hall, Sydney Conservatorium of Music.

Gerard Willems AM

Gerard Willems is one of Australia’s living legends of the piano. Born in Holland, his performance and teaching career has taken him to USA, the United Kingdom, Europe, Scandinavia Israel, Asia, New Zealand and throughout Australia. Recognised as a pre-eminent specialist of the first Viennese school, he has won awards for his recordings of Beethoven’s 32 piano sonatas, five piano concertos with Sinfonia Australis, and the ‘Diabelli Variations’. Read more >

Rachael Kohn AO FRSN

Broadcaster, author and patron of the musical arts, Rachael Kohn was the familiar voice of ABC Radio National’s The Spirit of Things, which she produced from 1997 to 2018. Over 26 years she produced and presented ground breaking programs on religious history, the arts and contemporary spirituality, as well as numerous publications. Read more >


We are grateful for the generous support of our piano partner Kawai, providing this recital’s sublime instrument – the Shigeru Kawai concert grand – and its installation and tuning. Sincere thanks to National Sales & Marketing Manager Warrick Baker and his team. For more information and to see the range of pianos, visit www.kawai.com.au

Important COVID Safe information.

ALL patrons must read carefully and agree to these terms and conditions.

The Sydney Conservatorium of Music is closely monitoring the COVID-19 situation and will continue to follow the advice from the Australian Government Department of Health. This is subject to change without notice. The Sydney International Piano Competition will follow all directives by The Sydney Conservatorium of Music.

It is up to patrons whether they decide to attend the event or not. In accordance with the Live Performance Award and advice from the Department of Health, refunds will not be issued for discretionary nonattendance. See further information below.

If you are feeling unwell before or on the morning of the concert or you have been advised to self-isolate by government officials you MUST not attend the concert. You must contact us a minimum of 4 HOURS prior to the scheduled start time and a refund of the ticket price will be refunded to you. You must phone 02 9241 3291, emails will not be accepted as notice.

At the venue please be prepared to follow the COVID Safe guidelines, failure to do so may result in you being asked to leave the venue without ticket refund.

1. You must register your contact details on arrival. (This information will only be used as requested by government officials for contact tracing if needed.)
2. You must wear a face mask when inside the Verbrugghen Hall for the concert
3. You must use the hand sanitiser available to you.
4. You may be temperature checked
5. You must keep 1.5m distance between you and other people at all times.
6. You must sit in your assigned seat and not move until the end of the concert
7. You are encouraged to download the COVID safe app to your phone


MOZART Excerpt from Piano Concerto No.21 in C Major K.467 (Elvira Madigan)
SCHUMANN Scenes from Childhood Op.15
GRIEG Peer Gynt Suite: Morning Mood
BERNSTEIN West Side Story: ‘Maria’
LISZT/VERDI Concert paraphrase on Rigoletto S.434
SHOSTAKOVICH Excerpt from Waltz No.2
CHOPIN Scherzo No.1 in B minor Op.20

With thanks to